Morning Star Lodge was first instituted in Farmington, Illinois as Farmington Lodge Under Dispensation in 1843. The lodge was moved to Canton in 1845 and the name changed to Morning Star Lodge U. D. The lodge was chartered as Morning Star Lodge # 30 an October 6, 1845. The amount paid for the Charter was \$ 3.00. The lodge met on Tuesday evenings on or preceding the full moon: The first officers of the lodge are as follows;

Worshipful Master	<u>Isaiah Stillman</u>	Secretary	Nathaniel, B. Childs
Senior Warden	David M. Smith	Senior Deacon	G. H. Hickman
Junior Warden	Harvey Smith	Junior Deacon	Samuel Christy
Treasurer	Daniel H. Dewey	Steward and Tyler	Henry Clark

Brother Stillman was a Major and in command of a battalion of volunteer infantry in the Black Hawk war. They were over run by a herds of Indians in the Dixon area and were defeated. Two of his men were killed and quite a number were wounded.

The following brethren were members of our lodge when it was chartered in 1845.

John Budd	Wells Tyler	
James Kuykendall	Thomas J. Little	
James Stipp	Hugh Lamasters	
Petter L. Snider	Jason Bass	
Joseph Bruce	David M. Barnes	
John Thatcher	Elisha W. Resor	
John Williamson	John J. Graham	
Fellowcrafts		

John Snider

Entered Apprentices

Thompson Maple	John f. Williams
Stephen H. Pitkin	Joseph T. Saunders
John W. Wilson	Samuel Wilson

Brother C.W. Rockhold was the first Mason to be elected, initiated, passed and raised after Morning Star Lodge # 30 was chartered. He was raised on January 13, 1846 and served as Master of the Lodge in 1848.

Morning Star Lodge #30 continued to meet and according to the records grow until 1852 when for some reason the charter was surrendered. In 1853 the lodge was reorganized and the charter applied for and regained by non other than C.W. Rockhold. Brother Rockhold served as Master of the Lodge that year.

In 1855 Brother Charles W. Rockhold demitted from Morning Star Lodge to organize a new lodge in Farmington and serve as the first Master of Farmington Lodge #192.

Morning Star Lodge continued to operate as number 30 until July 1875 when dissension caused its dissolution by having its charter arrested and revoked. The Grand Lodge sent an emissary to investigate and he reported back to the Grand Lodge that the situation was hopeless, so the lodge was dissolved.

At the same meeting of the Grand Lodge in July 1875, a petition for a new lodge was presented and given consideration. A dispensation was issued without fee to operate under the name of Canton Lodge Under dispensation. The principle officers being

W. M.	C. N. Hinkle
S. W.	W. A. Childs
J. W.	A.B. Leaman

The committee on Lodges under dispensation reported that Canon Lodge U. D. should be issued a Charter as Morning Star Lodge No. 734. This Charter was issued on October 5th, 1875 and it has operated and prospered ever since.

The first meetings of Morning Star Lodge No. 30 A.F. & A.M. were held on the third floor of what was known as the Maple building at the south east corner of the square. This was the building that Fredman Bros. Furniture occupied-until it was destroyed by the tornado on July 23, 1975. The lodge remained there until 1868 when it moved to the J. W. Ingersoll building later known as the Ellis building. This is the building that was occupied by McLuckie's on the west side of the square.

After the revoking of the charter and the issuance of a new charter, Morning Star Lodge No. 734 moved in 1878 to the third floor odd the Plattenburg building on the west side of the square, Houston Grocery occupied the first floor of this building. Later it was occupied

by the Canton Drug Co. until the tornado in July of 1975 destroyed this building. While in this location it was necessary for the members to carry coal up three stories to heat the quarters and carry down the ashes.

The lodge remained in this location until a new temple was furnished on the third floor of the Opera House on the east side of the square. This Temple was dedicated in February 1893 only to be destroyed by fire the following September. It has been said that the fire was caused by a live coal popping out of the fireplace.

Undaunted by this disaster, the Temple was immediately restored and refurnished with draperies that had been exhibited in the French section of the Worlds Fair held in Chicago that year. The furniture was purchased from a Masonic lodge which operated at the World's Fair. This furniture is still a prized possession of our present loge.

Morning Star Lodge has had an eventful history. Many memories of the past may be recalled. It may be mentioned that a member of Morning Star Lodge owed his escape from Andersonville prison during the Civil war to the fact that he was a Master Mason.

We are now situated on north Main Street in new quarters, beautifully appointed. This building was dedicated by Most Worshipful Past Grand Master, William Mason on July 7th 1968 when he was Most Worshipful Grand Master.

At one time this lodge had six living Grand Lecturers. They were as follows: Brethren Joseph Strickler, Jasper Anderson, Donald Mason, Otto Meier, Clark Emery and Jack Brodsky.

The historical portion of this presentation regarding the issuance of charters etc. were taken from Grand Lodge proceedings, and other parts from a speech given by brother Otto T. Meier during the celebration of Canton's sesquicentennial on November 8, 1975.

Morning Star Lodge #734 continues to meet at 1165 North Main in Canton and is looking forward to being a part of this community in the future.

Morning Star Lodge is proud to have had one of our members, Terry L. Seward, serve as Grand Master of Ancient Free & Accepted Masons of the State of Illinois from October 8, 2011 to October 5, 2013.

Past Masters

John Harold James	Keith Ray Fredrick	Lenover Kleinlein Watts	1965 1968 1973	Frank Terry Robert	William Lee Vincent	Jones Seward Stephenson	1998 1999 2000
Charles Rollin	Lewis Leigh	Dailey Rumler	1975 1976	Randy Elmer	Allan George	Weaver Polhans	2002 2003
Gordon	Dean	Bennett	1979	Jeremy	Dean	Ruck	2003
Lyle	Marvin	Fouts	1980	Randy	Lee	Vawter	2005 & 2011
Jack	Weldon	Furgerson	1983	Dean	Thomas	Austin	2006
Carroll	Lynn	Coats	1986	Larry	Laverne	Ford	2007
Kenneth	Dale	Crawford	1987	Robert	Cress	Beaty	2008 & 12
James	Warren	Hartford	1987	Patrick	Gene	Baughman	2009
Kenneth	Andrew	Davison	1990	Troy	Lee	Seward	2010
Elmer	George	Polhans	1994	Morris	Dan'l	Lee	2013
Paul	Eldon	Dillefeld	1995	Franklin	Dale	Pollitt	2014
Charles	Henry	Powell	1996	Donald	William	Foulk	2015
Jerry	Leon	Lefler	1997				

Fairview Lodge #350 in Fairview Illinois consolidated with Morning Star Lodge on September 2, 2010 and the following members now serve as Past Masters of our Lodge.

Past Masters of Fairview Lodge

William	Keeling	Burnside	1954	James	Oris	Shrum	1987
Bruce	Berwin	White	1963	Bruce	Allen	White	1989
John	Richard	Grigsby	1971	Berwin	Robert	Phipps	2000
Robert	Leroy	Vollmar	1972	Brian	Keith	Nell	2003
David	Paul	Derry	1975	Gary	Lee	Roberts	2004
Robert	0	Siedel	1977	Michael	Joseph	Beoletto	2005
Warren	Leo	Utsinger	1978	Ronald	Owen	Payne	2006
Gerald	Josiah	Mc Mahon	1982	Joseph	Allen	Drinkwater	2010
Howard	Charles	Roberts	1985				